5 tips to pamper your spirit

We all have those days were we feel the weight of the world on our shoulders. Days where it is easy to forget all the good advice and positivity quotes you have ever gotten. If this sounds familiar, stick around and let’s find out together if these tips work for you and can help your spirit soar once again.

thinking

1. Go for a walk

I love nature. I never feel as sincerely at peace as I do when I am outside enjoying nature. I take one look at the sky and suddenly my world and troubles seem brighter and less heavy. Maybe because it gives me a chance to observe how the world is full of people and it is not only about me and my issues. So go outside and walk it off. Look at the world and find the beauty that surrounds you.

Take the time to observe the trees, listen to the wind and the laughter of kids. Pay attention to the hints of life that come towards you in every step you take.

2. Read a good book

I know it probably sounds contradicting that the second piece of advice is the opposite of the previous one. However, both of them help depending on your specific situation. For me, it is not always a possibility to go out on a walk given that I live in a desert climate. And let me tell you, oftentimes temperatures get very, very high and nobody wants to be walking in the sun in those conditions. So I grab my favorite book, turn on the AC and emerge myself in the author’s world.

For example, right now I have on my reading list Sherlock Holmes, Message in the bottle and a couple of not so recreational reading materials. But I decided to start reading Bridget Jones simply because I knew I loved that movie, I wanted something to make me smile and gave me comfort during these difficult times. It worked! I love getting caught in a funny British conversation with Bridget and her gang. It makes me smile in times where a smile does not come as easy.

For me, sometimes it is all about getting lost in another world while I figure out what I am going to do in mine. Maybe it has something to do with me trying to evade what troubles me. But when I am feeling overwhelmed, I think the best action to take first is work on getting rid of that overwhelming state of mind. A book helps. Then you can focus on the rest of your troubles.

3. Exercise

Bear with me, it does help I promise! It helps you lose focus on the shitty things that drag you down. It clears your head and allows your blood to flow all over your body, it gives you a push and boost of energy. It makes you feel strong and powerful. Just try it. You have nothing to lose and so much to gain. Find the perfect exercising routine for those gloomy days.

4. Go out with your best friend

Now this is an easy one that I often neglect. When I get caught up in my own head and problems I feel so shitty that I don’t even feel like hanging out with my friends. This is not always a smart idea. Going out with your friends gives you a safe place to talk about what is hurting you, to let those feeling and ideas out and listen to advice from people who loves you. And if you are not in the mood to talk, you can always have a good time just hanging out with some of your favorite people in the world. Make time for those people, they want what’s best for you.

5. Take a day to feel your feelings

This is one that I acquired only recently and it has made a huge change. I used to want to bottle my feelings and pretend to be fine with the people around me. Why in the world did I feel the need to hide my true emotions? I’ll never know. All I know is that it takes twice as much energy to pretend than to acknowledge your feelings. It is never easy, though, opening up and being vulnerable. But it has some reward, because it lets you be completely true to yourself.

On my not so great days I catch up on my favorite shows, listen to good music, do laundry (I know, weird, but hey I like it), and write. I love writing my thoughts about everything and nothing. It helps me release what creates a lump in my throat and all the crazy ideas. Now you do not necessarily have to post it online. Most of the writing that comes out during those periods really need to be proofread. I have learned this the hard way. Just write it and save it for your eyes only if you need to.

There you have it my friends, some of the things I do during my difficult days where life seems too complicated. I hope they help and can lift your spirits.

spirit

With lots of love,

Ale

One thought on “5 tips to pamper your spirit

Leave a Reply

