Things I love about winter baseball

I once read on a blog post something about my home town that turned on a light bulb in my head. The girl said that here in the city I live in we only have two seasons: summer and baseball. It is so true! and it’s weird that I had never considered that before reading about it on someone else’s post.

20161016_163319

We do have basically a 10 month long summer here in a city in northern Mexico, we also have a rather nice and breeze month and another slighty colder one. The catch is what happens during those two nice weather months. Baseball!!! Oh yeah. I come from a very, very baseball driven family. My dad started playing ball when he was around 6 years old and he still plays with the older guys till this day. He loves the sport. I have cousins, sisters and nephews that play it as well, which makes it sort of a family event every time a big game is played. My sister even works for the franchise. You get the idea I hope.

I wanted to write about it because I love the idea that the people from here connect with each other through baseball. No matter who you are in the city, come opening night you want to be at the stadium watching the fireworks. They hit a homerun this year, it was truly magical.

I love the atmosphere at the games, the shouting when they hit the ball or score a run. The vendors everywhere are a bit annoying but neccesary. I have accepted them by now. I love the kids and babys wearing the team’s emblems and how green the grass looks on the field. Last, but by no means least, I love the players. It is something special to see them in action. Running for the base, hitting the ball and trying to catch those seemingly impossible hits.

There you have it folks, I hope you give baseball a chance. If it isn’t for you oh well. There are always more options out there. As for me, take me out to the ball game, take me out with the crowd…

20160923_174939

With love,

Ale

Leave a Reply

